Thelma Thornton Appointed to Granville Health System Board of Trustees


Thelma Thornton Appointed to Granville Health System Board of Trustees


OXFORD, NC (February 22, 2010) – Granville Health System (GHS) recently appointed a new member to its board of trustees. Thelma H. Thornton has begun her three-year term of office.


Thornton, a retired health care professional, attended North Carolina Central University and is a graduate of Lincoln Hospital School of Nursing. She has a long history of community involvement and has been recognized on numerous occasions by organizations such as the Granville County Association of Educators, UNC Chapel Hill and the State of North Carolina Governor’s Office. Thornton has also held leadership roles for the American Legion Auxiliary, North Carolina Tar Heel Girls State and Central Children’s Home.


“I am honored to be asked to serve,” Thornton said, “I have a strong desire to see Granville County thrive and believe that the health system is crucial to the vitality of this community.”


Thornton replaces board member Barbara Jones, who resigned her position in December.


“Serving Granville Health System is an opportunity to assist in fulfilling the organization’s goal of being a provider of quality health care,” said L.C. Adcock, GHS Board Chairman. “Thelma Thornton’s professional background and history of civic involvement will help support our mission as GHS continues to meet the growing needs of our community.”


The Granville Health System Board of Trustees is made up of 12 members that represent a wide range of areas of expertise and geographic coverage for the communities within the primary service area of the health system. The Board’s major areas of focus include governance, financial management and strategic planning for the future.


Health system board officers for 2010 are L.C. Adcock Chairman; Dave Currin, Jr., vice-Chairman, and Eugene D. Day, M.D., Chief of Medical Staff.


Other board members include Vernell Anderson, Ronald Alligood, W.E. “Pete” Averette, Tony Cozart, James Lumpkins, Hubert Gooch, Jr., Zelodis Jay, and Tom Koinis, M.D.

Back to News Listing